Bits of life / Poems

Under the olive tree.

My husband and I will celebrate our wedding anniversary in a few days, and I’m feeling sentimental.

I wrote this poem for him last year, reproduced here with permission.


Under the olive tree.

I want to marry you
again but this time
we would say I do
under that big olive tree
in October
I’d have a bouquet of tulips
and we would be sprinkled
with star-shaped confetti
our feet covered
in black dirt and chicken poop
we’d laugh and your smile would be all
I see outside of your giving heart

Leave a Reply

